Why Would Someone Not Carry Car Insurance?
Car insurance is a requirement in most states. It is illegal not to carry it on your vehicle. When accidents occur, things like head-on collisions can come with costly consequences. Lake Charles car wreck attorneys get cases like this often. So why do so many people ignore the law and choose to be drive without insurance?
Why Do People Drive Without Insurance?
Instead of beating around the bush, let’s discuss the number one reason why people go uninsured. If it comes down to paying for a policy that averages $1,099 or paying for housing, chances are that housing is going to win.
The cost of living and the rate of pay are the biggest reasons why someone might choose to drive without insurance in the United States. There are not enough programs available for drivers to be able to afford their monthly costs and car insurance.
Privacy and Commitment
A lot of people are skeptical about giving away their information to people or over the internet. In an age where identities are being stolen left and right, who can really blame them?
It takes a lot of personal information to receive a quote for car insurance. Your name, address, phone number, social security number, driver’s license number, and birth date. It almost feels like they should go ahead and ask for your blood type while they are at it.
Getting a quote or multiple quotes can be overwhelming. Trying to find the best price for car insurance is like finding a needle in a haystack. With all of the large premium prices glaring at you from the screen, people tend to just save the quotes for later.
Commissions and Bottom Lines
Just like when you drive on to a car dealer’s lot, they flock to you trying to upsell everything that you look at. Insurance agents can be the same way. They are looking to make a commission off of your policy purchase and that makes a lot of people feel like they aren’t being listened to.
All you want is a policy that covers your needs and doesn’t cost you a dime more than it has to.
Lack of Understanding
Reading insurance policies is like reading a foreign language. Unless you have specifically trained in the insurance profession, it might as well be written by a two-year-old in crayon on the walls.
Most people do not understand what the terminology means when they are buying car insurance and if it frustrates them enough, they may not even try to understand it. This is how a lot of people end up uninsured too.
The most important thing you can do is know what your state requires and go from there. If you are in a head-on collision but do not have insurance or are underinsured, you could be looking at consequences that are not only costly, but you could find yourself on the other side of a jail cell.
If you do find yourself in this situation, contacting a lawyer in Louisiana may be your only option.
It Won’t Happen to Me
Almost as soon as you utter those words, it is going to happen. People feel like they are immune from auto accidents or from getting hurt in those situations. They feel like it always happens to someone else, not them.
That is not the truth, they have just been lucky. Leaving car insurance and accidents up to chance is like playing Russian Roulette. You don’t know which barrel it is in, but it is going to fire at some point.
Minimum Coverage Required in Louisiana
Here is the minimum coverage for car insurance in Louisiana.
Bodily injury liability coverage: $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident
This means that the car insurance company will pay for bodily injuries caused by the driver on the policy in these amounts. This pays for injuries, lost wages, and in worst-case scenarios funeral expenses.
Property damage liability coverage: $25,000
This is what the insurance company will payout for damages caused to property by the driver on the policy.
Medical payments: $1,000
This coverage will pay for medical, dental, or funeral expenses regardless of who was at fault in the accident.
Uninsured motorist bodily injury: $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident
This helps pay for the policy holder’s medical bills in the event that the collision was with an uninsured driver.
Medical payment and uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage can be rejected but are highly recommended coverages as they help cover your expenses.
Choosing to drive without insurance can lead to costly accidents. Contact a Lake Charles auto accident law firm if you find yourself in a situation where you need legal representation after an auto accident with an uninsured driver.